codex alimentarius commission





JOINT OFFICE: Viale delle Terme di Caracalla 00153 ROME Tel: 39 06 57051 www.codexalimentarius.net Email: codex@fao.org Facsimile: 39 06 5705 4593

Agenda Item 7

CX/EURO 08/26/9 Rev. September 2008

JOINT FAO/WHO FOOD STANDARDS PROGRAMME FAO/WHO COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR EUROPE

Twenty-sixth Session Warsaw, Poland, 7-10 October 2008

NOMINATION OF THE COORDINATOR

- 1. The procedures governing the appointment of a Coordinator, as amended by the 29th Session of the Commission (2006) and approved by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO, are laid down in Rule IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
- 2. The amended Rule IV reads as follows:
 - IV.1 The Commission may appoint a Coordinator from among the Members of the Commission for any of the geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 (hereinafter referred to as "regions") or for any group of countries specifically enumerated by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as 'groups of countries'), whenever it may find, on the basis of a proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group, that work for the Codex Alimentarius in the countries concerned so requires
 - IV.2 Appointment of Coordinators shall be made exclusively on the proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group of countries concerned. In principle, they shall be nominated at each session of the relevant Coordinating Committee established under Rule XI.1(b)(ii), and appointed at the following regular session of the Commission. They shall hold office from the end of this session. Coordinators may be reappointed for a second term. The Commission shall make such arrangements as may be necessary in order to ensure continuity in the functions of the Coordinators.
 - IV.3 The functions of the Coordinators shall be:
 - (i) to appoint the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee where such committee has been set up under Rule XI.1(b)(ii) for the region or group of countries concerned;
 - (ii) to assist and coordinate the work of the Codex Committees set up under Rule XI.1(b)(i) in their region or group of countries in the preparation of draft standards, guidelines and other recommendations for submission to the Commission;
 - (iii) to assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-government organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest.
- 3. In accordance with Rule V.1 of the Rules of Procedure, as amended by the 28th Session of the Commission (in 2005), the Coordinators serve as members in the Executive Committee, together with the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons as well as seven further members elected on a geographic basis. The geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 are as follows: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and the South-West Pacific. The same Rule provides that not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.

<u>CX/EURO 08/26/9</u> 2

4. At the time of writing, 48 members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission belonged to the Region of Europe:

Albania	Greece	Romania
Armenia	Hungary	Russian Federation
Austria	Iceland	Serbia
Belarus	Ireland	Slovakia
Belgium	Israel	Slovenia
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Italy	Spain
Bulgaria	Kazakhstan	Sweden
Croatia	Kyrgyzstan	Switzerland
Cyprus	Latvia	The Former Yugoslav Republic of
Czech Republic	Lithuania	Macedonia
Denmark	Luxembourg	Turkey
Estonia	Malta	Ukraine
European Community	Moldova	United Kingdom
Finland	Netherlands	Uzbekistan
France	Norway	
Georgia	Poland	
Germany	Portugal	

- 5. The Commission at its 30th Session (Rome, 2-7 July 2007) had appointed Switzerland as Coordinator for Europe (ALINORM 07/30/REP, para. 247). Switzerland, having served for two two years terms, by July 2009, will not be eligible for re-appointment.
- 6. The Committee **is invited** to nominate a Coordinator for Europe (one of the Member countries on the list above) for appointment by the Thirty-second Session of the Commission (Rome, 29 June 4 July 2009).