CODEX ALIMENTARIUS COMMISSION



Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations



Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy - Tel: (+39) 06 57051 - Fax: (+39) 06 5705 4593 - E-mail: codex@fao.org - www.codexalimentarius.net

Agenda Item 6

CX/NASWP 10/11/9 June 2010

## JOINT FAO/WHO FOOD STANDARDS PROGRAMME

## FAO/WHO COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR NORTH AMERICA AND THE SOUTH WEST PACIFIC

Eleventh session

Nuku'alofa, Tonga, 28 September - 1 October 2010

## NOMINATION OF THE COORDINATOR

1. The procedures governing the appointment of a Coordinator, as amended by the 30<sup>th</sup> Session of the Commission (2007) and approved by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO, are laid down in Rule IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

- 2. The amended Rule IV) reads as follows:
  - "IV.1 The Commission may appoint a Coordinator from among the Members of the Commission for any of the geographic locations enumerated in Rule III.1 (hereinafter referred to as "regions") or for any group of countries specifically enumerated by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as "groups of countries"), whenever it may find, on the basis of a proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group, that work for the Codex Alimentarius in the countries concerned so requires.
  - IV.2 Appointment of Coordinators shall be made exclusively on the proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group of countries concerned. In principle, they shall be nominated at each session of the relevant Coordinating Committee established under Rule XI.1(b)(ii), and appointed at the following regular session of the Commission. They shall hold office from the end of this session. Coordinators may be reappointed for a second term. The Commission shall make such arrangements as may be necessary in order to ensure continuity in the functions of the Coordinators.
  - IV.3 The functions of the Coordinators shall be:
    - (a) to appoint the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee where such committee has been set up under Rule XI.1(b)(ii) for the region or group of countries concerned;
    - (b) to assist and coordinate the work of the Codex Committees set up under Rules XI.1(b)(i) in their region or group of countries in the preparation of draft standards, guidelines and other recommendations for submission to the Commission.
    - (c) to assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest.

3. In accordance with Rule V.1 of the Rules of Procedure, as amended by the 28<sup>th</sup> Session of the Commission (2005), the Coordinators serve as members in the Executive Committee, together with the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons as well as seven further members elected on a geographic basis. The geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 are as follows: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and the South-West Pacific. The same Rule provides that not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.

4. At the time of writing, 13 countries in the Region of North America and the South-West Pacific are members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. These countries are:

Australia	Papua New Guinea	
Canada	Samoa	
Cook Islands	Solomon Islands	
Fiji	Tonga	
Kiribati	United States of America	
Micronesia, Federated States of	Vanuatu	
New Zealand		

5. The Commission, at its 32<sup>nd</sup> Session (29 June - 4 July 2009), appointed Tonga as Coordinator for North America and the South-West Pacific (ALINORM 07/30/REP, para. 247). Tonga, having served for two terms, four years by July 2011, will not be eligible for re-appointment. A full list of CCNASWP Coordinators is given the Table below.

6. The Committee **is invited** to nominate a Coordinator for North America and the South West Pacific (one of the Member countries on the list above) for appointment by the Thirty-fourth Session of the Commission (Geneva, 4 - 7 July 2011).

Coordinator	Country	Year of appointment	CAC Session	Duration appointment
Dr Lester Crawford	USA	1989	18 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 18 <sup>th</sup> to 19 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Mr Digby Gascoine	Australia	1991	19 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 19 <sup>th</sup> to 20 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Mrs Katherine Gourlie	Canada	1993	20 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 20 <sup>th</sup> to 21 <sup>st</sup> CAC
Mr P.J. O'Hara	New Zealand	1995	21 <sup>st</sup> CAC	from end 21 <sup>st</sup> to 22 <sup>nd</sup> CAC
Mr Thomas Billy	USA	1997	22 <sup>nd</sup> CAC	from end 22 <sup>nd</sup> to 23 <sup>rd</sup> CAC
Mr Geoff Gorrie	Australia	1999	23 <sup>rd</sup> CAC	from end 23 <sup>rd</sup> to 24 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Canada		2001	24 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 24 <sup>th</sup> to 26 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Samoa		2003	26 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 26 <sup>th</sup> to 28 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Samoa		2005	28 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 28 <sup>th</sup> to 30 <sup>th</sup> CAC
Tonga		2007	30 <sup>th</sup> CAC	from end 30 <sup>th</sup> to 32 <sup>nd</sup> CAC
Tonga		2009	32 <sup>nd</sup> CAC	from end 32 <sup>nd</sup> to 34 <sup>th</sup> CAC

## **CCNASWP** Coordinators