



## **ELECTION OF CFS VICE-CHAIRPERSON**

The newly appointed CFS Bureau at its first meeting on 30 November 2023 should elect a Vice Chairperson from among its members, for the same two-year term of office as the Chairperson of CFS. This note provides further background information on this topic for Bureau members.

According to Paragraph 5, Rule II (Bureau) of the CFS Rules of Procedure:

"Bureau shall elect a Vice-Chairperson from among its members, on the basis of individual qualifications. The Vice Chairperson shall remain in office until the election of a new Vice Chairperson. If due to incapacity, death or any other reason, the Chairperson is prevented from exercising his or her functions for the remainder of the term of office, these functions shall be exercised by the Vice-Chairperson for the remainder of the Chairperson's term of office. The Bureau shall elect a new Vice-Chairperson from among its members for the remainder of the Vice-Chairperson's term of office".

The table below presents an overview of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs who have been elected since the CFS reform in 2009.

BIENNIUM	CFS CHAIR	CFS VICE-CHAIR
2010-2011	Mr Noel De Luna (Philippines)	Mr Hugo Verbist (Belgium)
2012-2013	Mr Yaya Adisa Olaitan Olaniran (Nigeria)	Mr Franklin Moore (USA)
		Ms Christine Ton Nu (France)
2014-2015	Ms Gerda Verburg (Netherlands)	Mr Gustavo Infante (Argentina)
		Mr Lupino Lazaro (Philippines)
2016-2017	Ms Amira Daoud Hassan Gornass (Sudan)	Mr Luca Fratini (Italy)
		Mr Jon Erlingur Jonasson (Iceland)
2018-2019	Mr Mario Arvelo (Dominican Republic)	Ms Valentina Savastano (Italy)
2020-2021	Mr Thanawat Tiensin (Thailand)	Don Syme (New Zealand)
2022-2023	Mr Gabriel Ferrero (Spain)	Mr Anthony Murithi (Kenya)