

CFS HLPE Steering Committee Renewal

Doc No: Bur/2021/05/21/01

In date 26 April 2021, the CFS Chair has received a letter from the Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee (AHTSC), including their proposed list of members for next Steering Committee of the CFS High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition.

The letter, including the list of experts and the annexes, is here attached.

The CFS Bureau is requested to endorse the list of experts who will form the next HLPE Steering Committee as proposed by the Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee.

Attachments:

Annex 1: AHTSC proposal

Annex 2: short bios Annex 3: full CVs



CFS HLPE Steering Committee Renewal

Doc No: Bur/2021/05/21/01



Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee

Rome, 26 April 2021

Your Excellency,

We, members of the Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee, have the honour to refer to the meeting we held in Rome on 12 April 2021 to review the list of 51 official nominees, including 10 candidatures for reappointment, to the Steering Committee of the High-Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition (HLPE).

We have conducted our deliberations according to the procedures decided by the Committee on World Food Security (CFS) and its Bureau. In reviewing the list of candidates and elaborating our proposal, we paid particular attention to the individual criteria for HLPE Steering Committee members, as they were defined by the CFS, as well as to the assortment of technical disciplines, the balance of regional expertise and the gender representation.

We are pleased to present you herewith our proposal (Annex 1), which could constitute the next Steering Committee of the HLPE. Considering the need for both continuity and change, this proposal retains seven names from the outgoing Steering Committee and includes one from the previous one. You will find in Annex 2 the short biographies of the proposed nominees and, in Annex 3, their full curricula vitae.

Yours sincerely,

Ismahane Elouafi (FAO)

Chair of the Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee *AVIT HUSAIN* Arif Husa'n (Apr 29, 2021 11:55 GMT+2)

> Arif Husain (WPF)

Shantanu MATHUR (IFAD)

Audi Tipathi

Ruchi Tripathi (Apr 29, 2021 18:16 GMT+1)

Ruchi TRIPATHI (CSM) Sonja Vermeulen
Sonja Vermeulen (Apr 29, 2021 19:19 GMT+2)

Sonja VERMEULEN (CGIAR)

H.E. Ambassador Thanawat Tiensin Chairperson Committee on World Food Security